Vaccines, the most successful public health measure

Vaccines are one of the most cost-effective achievements in public health, significantly decreasing costs related to hospitalizations, treatments, disabilities, disease outbreaks, and productivity loss. They have helped to prevent more than 30 common infectious diseases[1] and save approximately 3 million lives a year globally [2].
MSD has played an important and defining role in the history of vaccines. We are proud of our rich biotechnical heritage that spans over a century, and of our proven track record in supplying well-tolerated and effective vaccines to millions of Europeans. Our best-in-class vaccines portfolio, which includes childhood, adolescent and adult products, has helped to prevent a number of diseases, including the prevention of now rare diseases, like measles and mumps, to diseases never thought preventable, like shingles and cervical cancer.

MSD continues its commitment to finding solutions to diseases that affect people of all ages everywhere in the world. MSD Vaccines is at the forefront of finding innovative solutions to help prevent infectious diseases globally.

Today, we are developing vaccines against new infections, improving existing vaccines and exploring ways of making our vaccines even more acceptable – for example, by maximizing the number of vaccines in a single injection.

Our ambition is to be the undisputed leader for vaccines, known for our innovation, expertise, ethics and dedication to protecting the lives of children and adults. Every child, woman and man deserves to be free from vaccine preventable diseases.

Our Products *

Vaccine Helps protect against
ROTATEQ® Rotavirus gastroenteritis
M-M-RVAXPRO® Measles, Mumps, Rubella
PROVARIVAX® Varicella (Chicken Pox)
GARDASIL® Human Papillomavirus diseases caused by 4 HPV Types
GARDASIL®Junior Human Papillomavirus diseases caused by 9 HPV Types
VAQTA®Junior Hepatitis A
VAQTA® Hepatitis A
HBVAXPRO®10 µg Hepatitis B
HBVAXPRO®40 µg Hepatitis B
PNEUMOVAX 23® Pneumococcal disease
ZOSTAVAX® Shingles

* Link to the SmPC of all the products above: website, accessed on January 24, 2017

[1] WHO, UNICEF, World Bank. State of the World’s Vaccines and Immunization, 3rd ed. Geneva, World Health Organization; 2009. last accessed November 2016

[2] World Health Organization. Immunization Coverage. April 2013; Fact Sheet 378. last accessed November 2016.

CORP-1207372-0000 Date of last revision 01/2017

MSD VACCINES

 

Vaccins, la mesure de santé publique la plus réussie

Les vaccins sont l’une des réalisations les plus rentables en matière de santé publique : ils réduisent considérablement les coûts liés aux hospitalisations, aux traitements, aux handicaps, aux épidémies et permettent également de limiter les pertes de productivité. Ils ont permis d’empêcher plus de 30 maladies infectieuses fréquentes[1] et sauvent environ 3 millions de vies par an dans le monde [2].
MSD a joué un rôle important et déterminant dans l’histoire des vaccins. Nous sommes fiers de notre riche patrimoine biotechnologique depuis plus d'un siècle et de notre expérience qui a fait ses preuves dans la fourniture de vaccins bien tolérés et efficaces pour des millions d'Européens. Notre portefeuille de vaccins les plus performants, qui comprend des produits destinés aux enfants, aux adolescents et aux adultes, a permis de prévenir un certain nombre de maladies, dont des maladies devenues rares à l’heure actuelle, comme la rougeole et les oreillons, et des maladies que l’on n’aurait jamais imaginé pouvoir prévenir, comme le zona et le cancer du col de l’utérus.

MSD maintient son engagement dans la recherche de solutions aux maladies qui affectent des personnes à tout âge, partout dans le monde. MSD Vaccines est à la pointe de la recherche dans les solutions innovantes visant à prévenir les maladies infectieuses dans le monde.

Aujourd'hui, nous développons des vaccins contre de nouvelles infections, améliorons les vaccins existants et explorons des moyens de rendre nos vaccins encore plus acceptables, par exemple en maximisant le nombre de vaccins en une seule injection.

Notre ambition n’est autre que d’être le leader incontesté dans le domaine des vaccins, d’être réputés pour notre innovation, notre expertise, notre sens éthique et notre engagement envers la protection de la vie des enfants et des adultes. Chaque enfant, femme et homme mérite d'être à l’abri de maladies évitables grâce à la vaccination.

Nos produits :

Vaccin Permet d’être protégé contre
ROTATEQ® Rotavirus gastroentérite
M-M-RVAXPRO® Rougeole, oreillons, rubéole
PROVARIVAX® Varicelle
GARDASIL® Maladies du papillomavirus humain provoquées par 4 types de VPH
GARDASIL®Junior Maladies du papillomavirus humain provoquées par 9 types de VPH
VAQTA®Junior Hépatite A
VAQTA® Hépatite A
HBVAXPRO®10 µg Hépatite B
HBVAXPRO®40 µg Hépatite B
PNEUMOVAX 23® Maladie pneumococcique
ZOSTAVAX® Zona

*Lien vers le RCP de tous les produits ci-dessus : site web e-compendium.be http://www.e-compendium.be, , consulté le 24 janvier 2017

[1] OMS, UNICEF, Banque mondiale. Vaccins et vaccination : la situation dans le monde, 3ème édition, Genève, Organisation mondiale de la Santé, 2009.http://who.int/immunization/sowvi/en/ onsulté pour la dernière fois en novembre 2016

[2] Organisation mondiale de la Santé. Couverture vaccinale. Avril 2013 ; Aide-mémoire 378. http://www.who.int/mediacentre/factsheets/fs378/en consulté pour la dernière fois en novembre 2016.


CORP-1207372-0000 Date of last revision 01/2017